Winston Salem, The tragic events of recent years have brought gun control to the forefront. Recently, a large segment of the population has been pushing for stricter gun laws, while others argue that such regulations could have negative consequences. Whether you’re on either side of this debate, it’s important to know your rights and responsibilities as a gun owner. There are many different gun laws in place in North Carolina. Keeping informed and learning more about local laws concerning guns will help you operate responsibly as a gun owner in Winston Salem.
Laws about Guns in Winston Salem
- Firearm Registration
Neither the U.S. nor the State of North Carolina requires firearm registration. Nevertheless, you must adhere to the state’s gun laws to avoid charges. You need either a Concealed Carry Handgun permit (CCH) or a handgun purchase permit to purchase a handgun in North Carolina.
You must obtain a handgun purchase permit from your local county sheriff’s office. Permit applicants must have been residing in a North Carolina county for at least 30 days before applying and possess a North Carolina ID card or driver’s license.
- Open Carry Gun Laws
Those who legally own firearms can open carry without a permit in North Carolina. Applicants must be 18 years old and have not been convicted of felony crimes. The display of firearms on public property is regulated, and Off-Limit areas may include schools, universities, state and federal parks, and organized sporting events. Additionally, you may not open carry on private property or inside businesses that display “No Weapons” signs.
- Concealed Carry Rights
A license/permit is required for concealed carry of handguns in North Carolina. It is a “shall issue” state, so a concealed handgun permit must be issued to applicants who meet the following basic requirements:
- Be Age 21 or older
- You must complete a training course of at least eight hours.
- Must Have lived in North Carolina for at least 30 d
- Applicants must be U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents.
- Applicants must not have been convicted of a felony or any other specific crime within the last three years.
- Must not have a mental or physical condition that prevents safe firearm handling
Unless otherwise noted, concealed carry is allowed in state parks, forests, rest areas, vehicles, and all other areas of the state that are not prohibited. You can access some no-carry locations with the proper permits.
- Storage and Transportation
All gun owners in North Carolina are required to keep their firearms locked or out of children’s reach. Mishandling guns can be fatal, so violating this law results in a misdemeanor.
- Stand Your Ground Laws
North Carolina has a law that allows people to use a gun only if it is used in self-defense. If the person using the firearm had engaged in conduct that caused them to fear for their life, they would be entitled to use force against the person or even against their own life (this is called the “stand your ground” law).
It is important to know gun laws to be a responsible gun owner. These laws are in place to ensure citizens’ safety and prevent illegal gun use. If you are a gun owner in Winston Salem, it is important to be aware of these laws and to follow them strictly.